Congratulations Atom A1 Gold Metal winners of the Fallen Stars

Posted by Mission Minor Hockey Association on Nov 14 2018 at 03:57PM PST

The Mission A1 stars went a Perfect 5-0 to be crowned champions of the Tournament of Fallen Stars. Over the remembrance day weekend, Mission Minor Hockey hosted the tournament of Fallen stars to remember the Veterans on November 11th but also to remember the Players of Mission Minor hockey whom lives were cut short in a variety of tragedies but there legacy in Hockey and the community burns strong. Hockey is not just about winning, stink hockey gear and early morning practices. Hockey is about family, community, comradery and friendships and doing it in a structure where each player is celebrated for there strength and encouraged to develop in their areas of improvement.

The Mission Atom A1 Stars went a perfect 3-0 in round-robing play, demonstrating sportsmanship and teamwork as they found success. The team was acknowledged by their opponents for the professionalism add respect of the coaching staff and players. In the Playoff rounds the team defeated North Shore winter club 5-3 setting up a Gold medal game against Squamish Eagles. Prior to the start of the Gold medal game there was a ceremonial face off in which Mike Lago dropped the puck in Memory of his son Scotty Lago whom 4 years ago lost his life in a tragic car accident, leaving behind his girlfriend and 2 young children. Scotty will always be remembered as a good teammate whom made his teammates smile at the rink, through his humour he always made each and every player on his team feel good about themselves and want to be part of the culture in Hockey.

The Mission Atom A1 stars jumped out to a 4-0 lead and controlled the game despite a great effort by Squamish to make a comeback. In the end, The Mission Atom A1 stars won their first championship game of the season by the score of 6-3

Members of the Mission Atom A1 stars include:

Coaches: Kosie Galos, Stephen Wall, Rob Candy, Bryce Phenix and Lindsey Hickmott
Players: Tyson Osterberg (G), Aiden Gould (G), Clayton Candy (D), Rocklen Stordy (D), Braxton Bradley (D), Avery Boscariol (D), Atticus Wall (F), Clark Galos (F), James Raffan (F), Kyler Clark (F), Ashton Howe (F), Mason Cvitkovich, Noah Gasparik (F), Chase Lawless (F), Liam Mowat (F)


There are no comments for this announcement.